1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Maths/Physics in South America - Questions

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by MathsTeacherAbroad, Aug 14, 2019.

1. MathsTeacherAbroad

MathsTeacherAbroad New commenter

Hello everyone,

I am interested in teaching Maths/Physics in South America. I have a little bit of a strange situation perhaps, so could I please ask some specific questions?

About me: I am a 28 year-old female teacher from the UK. I graduated in Mechanical Engineering, and am currently teaching Maths/Physics at a private school in Bangkok, Thailand. I have done this for three years.

Now the next part, I don't wish to go deep into my personal history, but I fear it's relevant. In short, I have been outside of the UK for seven years. I won't return home as I grew up in a very abusive family. I left home at eighteen when I went to University. Then I left the UK at 21.

Long story short, I won't go back to the UK under any circumstances, thus the PGCE is not an option (I absolutely don't wish to create a sob story, just I need to be clear that I really can't do the PGCE in England)

I'm looking at South America (for reasons that I won't bore you with!)

1) Which is the best possible teaching qualification that would get me into International Schools/Private schools? (2nd, even 3rd tier is OK)
    1b) Would the PGCEi from Sunderland be sufficient? or the Teach Now qualification? I'm happy to pay more to get the best one possible that can be done abroad
    2) Does anyone know how I could get contacted by South American employers? besides LinkedIn, Seriousteachers, the obvious ones