1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

teaching local languages

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by neanderthal, Feb 25, 2012.

1. I am head of an international school in Asia - the hardest posts to fill are always local language teachers as candidates tend to lack understanding of modern teaching methods. Currently we stream our language groups into 3 levels from absolute beginner to native-speaker. All 3 groups seem to spend a huge amount of time learning in English (praise, classroom management, instructions, questions and explanations all seem to be in English). As I said, I learnt French and German this way at school more than 20 years ago. However, I also learnt Russian from a Russian-speaker more recently and the lessons involved no English from day one. Admittedly the first week was a bit odd as we made sounds repeatedly and practiced letters. However, after this, progress was exceptional! I have changed recruitment policies for local language teachers so that I am less interested now in qualifications and more in 'affinity' to English education and willingness to learn. Alongside this I am putting aside time to 'train' them - including investigating external support; one of the first things I want to look at is how to teach without using English (generally the local teachers I have employed have been so proud of their English, they're rather reluctant not to use it!). Am I barking up the wrong tree? Or is this how languages are taught today anyway? What are your opinions? And - critically - does anyone have experience of any online teacher training courses for non-UK staff; I'm not worried if they offer a qualification or not (like an iPGCE for example), merely that they provide dece