1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching kindness

Discussion in 'Primary' started by rightasrain, Jan 5, 2020.

1. rightasrain

rightasrain New commenter

I’ve been teaching for 8 years and my current class are the hardest I’ve taught by far in terms of behaviour. They are so unkind to each other. This term I’d like to do a focus on being kind. Does anybody know anything that would work well? I’m going to do lots of modelling but any nice picture books like ‘How to Fill a Bucket’?
    Thanks in advance for any ideas :)

richardmthompson1 likes this.
  2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Tell them that this term you want them to 'Tell Tales'. They have to tell you every single time someone does something kind. When they do tell you, give both that person AND the person being kind a sticker or some such.

Depends on their age, you can give each child a small paper bag on a wall display somewhere. Each Monday give a secret name out to everyone and they have to write a kind note to put in the 'bucket'. Give a time slot when everyone writes, but also make sure they know they can add any other kind note they want at any point in the week. On Friday afternoon, they get to take home all the notes from their 'bucket'.

And keep them very busy, so that they just don't have time to think about being unkind, hey just don't have any downtime at all. Act being really furious every time someone is unkind in your sight/hearing...really go to town on it.

All this will hopefully mean they spend so long thinking of kind tales to tell and notes to write that they forget about being unkind. And anyway they are actually scared to be unkind in your presence anyway.