1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in WA

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by kellymitchell12, Feb 26, 2018.

1. kellymitchell12

kellymitchell12 New commenter

Hi,

My husband and I are thinking of emigrating to WA with our little boy.

I’m an English teacher (PGCE) and have three years experience.

I’m just looking for any teachers who have already emigrated to WA. We want to hear stories - good and bad - before we make our decision.

Thanks!

2. T0nyGT

T0nyGT Lead commenter

Western Australia or Washington?

grdwdgrrrl likes this.
  3. kellymitchell12

Western Australia - sorry!

4. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

never taught there, but have taught a pile of students from this region (obviously they were expats)....boy where they very low ability students. even the basics were a struggle. reminded me of teaching British kids again in the UK.

5. jperriam

jperriam New commenter

I'm a teacher in Perth. Plenty of low ability students, but lots of clever ones as well. It depends where you teach and what classes they give you. The schools also vary quite considerably - there are some high schools here that I would never want to teach in. I don't believe there is much demand for English Teachers at the moment so you might find yourself at one of the more difficult schools.

6. jamieheap

jamieheap New commenter

Are you at liberty to give us some examples of high schools you wouldn't teach in and why? It is something I had also looked at, and in Western Australia, so would be nice for some local knowledge. Are English teachers not always in demand like here in the UK then?

kellymitchell12 likes this.
  7. kellymitchell12