1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in USA

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Natalie_x0, Oct 9, 2015.

1. Natalie_x0

Natalie_x0 New commenter

I am currently in my second year of teaching in the UK and am looking to hopefully make the move across the pond to join my boyfriend in Philadelphia. After years of countless trips back and forth, we would love to begin our lives together and finally be in the same city again, as we were when we met four years ago on our study abroad programme in Sydney! However, being in the same city requires a VISA and as I believe, it can only be obtained through either being sponsored by an employer in the USA or through a marriage proposal. Ideally I would like to take the sponsorship route as accepting a marriage proposal which is highly influenced by entrance to the USA, would be wrong.

I absolutely love teaching and would love to continue my teaching career in America. I am currently a Year 1 teacher with an Education Studies BA Hons Degree (2:1) and a PGCE in EYFS and KS1.

I am looking for anyone who can give me any kind of advice, guidance or support on where to start in this process.
    Or just to talk to someone who has taught in America and can provide me with some insight as to what it may be like for a UK citizen.

Thanks in advance, Natalie

2. sabrinakat

sabrinakat Star commenter

Probably best to post down in 'Teaching Overseas'. You might also want to do a search on the topic on tes as well -it's a very popular query.

Good luck!

3. Duke of York

Duke of York Star commenter

It might help you get sponsorship if you take a firearms course at a convenient shooting range and add the certificate to your CV.

4. dumpty