1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in USA International Schools

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by obie77, Jan 6, 2018.

1. obie77

obie77 New commenter

Hi,

I am applying for Primary teaching positions in the USA, Huston and Charlotte. I am quite nervous about this, but I am looking to stretch my wings professionally and personally.

Does anyone have experience of teaching in these kinds of schools in the USA? I would really love some advice, not only on salary, housing etc but also working conditions, job roles etc.

I have been teaching for 16 years, I am SLT but I have also only taught in one school. I am really looking for positives as it will be easy to talk myself out of it! Though honesty about all factors would be so very appreciated!

Thank you

2. MyLastDuchess

MyLastDuchess New commenter

I sent you a PM.

chelle20 likes this.
  3. deliadiamond

deliadiamond New commenter

Would you also be able to PM me as well please?

4. Billybobbins

Billybobbins New commenter

Could you pm me too please? Thanks!

5. chelle20

chelle20 New commenter

Hello. If possible, can you pm me please? Thanks.

6. lateralligator

lateralligator New commenter

I'm in the US at the moment and I'm leaving this year. The political climate is a mess and frankly worrying especially as an expat moving into the country. I'd come back in a few years when it all settles down again. Also the cost of living over here is HIGH as well and taxes may as well be double dutch, I'm in California though and it is one of the most taxed states there is.

obie77 likes this.
  7. mm71

mm71 Occasional commenter