1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in the USA

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by kjfowers1988, May 19, 2020.

Tags:
  1. kjfowers1988

kjfowers1988 New commenter

Hi

My husband has recently looked into getting a new job (through his company) in the USA, specifically Indiana. I have been teaching for 10 years, mainly KS2 but recently in EYFS. I really enjoy teaching and I'm hoping to continue while over in America, but I'm not sure how I would do this or even where to look to find out more. I have tried looking on the internet but getting a bit confused by all the information.

I have 3 young children (five, four and two) and I'm hoping they will flourish when we move and that they are young enough not to miss too much of our normal 'home' life in the UK. I understand things are a bit up in the air with COVID-19 but I want to try and get the facts before we make the final decision.

If anyone can offer any advice, tips or expertise on the subject I would be very grateful.

Thank you in advance

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

The subject of teaching in the USA has come up quite a few times on this forum and on other ones too. Have a go with the "Search" facility and see what you find.

3. kjfowers1988

Thank you I have had a closer look around the site and found the US forum.

4. amysdad

amysdad Established commenter

You might also want to look on the open forum on the site where international schools are reviewed (can't put the name here apparently) - teachers on there are predominantly US so might have a good idea how to go about it.

kjfowers1988 likes this.
  5. Arepa

Arepa New commenter