1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

teaching in the usa

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by swaine8, Jun 13, 2011.

1. my son is planning to study in america at high school and play basketball.
    i am a teacher of 8 years. i teach pe in special ed...i would like to apply and move my family to the states..
    can someone point me in the right direction.
    thanks

2. Your PGCE is not worthless. It will get you into a classroom in CA. Spe Ed is about the only area with vacancies, the lay-offs in all other subjects have been extensive. You will need to sign up for a teacher training program while working.
    The big issue is your visa.

The cctc.org is the not very useful website to check out.

3. That first poster was rude. Sorry. This is a bad time for teachers in the US. Our economy is in a shambles because of our war expenditures and the housing crash. Well deserved consequences may I add. Due to this, education budgets have been cut all across America. Teachers have been pink slipped everywhere. There just are not many openings and districts must hire from wothin before they hire from without.

The next problem is that you are not teaching in a shortage field. PE teachers are also only hired here if they can also coach a sport, usually football, basketball.