1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in the UAE

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by dardig, Mar 27, 2016.

1. dardig

dardig New commenter

Hey,

I'm currently a junior school teacher in Birmingham but I'm thinking about teaching in the UAE (Dubai, Abu Dhabi).

I would like some insight from those who are already teaching there.

Good and bad experiences, things I need to consider ...etc

Thank you :)

2. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

Not to be unfriendly, but please wander through the forum and read up. Then ask specific questions if needed.
    TES helps those who help themselves.

3. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

I have to agree with gulfers. There really are loads of posts about Dubai and the rest of the UAE. There are even one or two posts about the plural garden impliment school.

4. dumpty

dumpty Star commenter

I was put off from teaching there as I constantly hear the children are ill disciplined (very rich so do not care) and it is impossible to teach. You are, in effect, a well paid play centre teacher. You do certainly see many people leaving and loads of jobs there at all times throughout the year.

Am sure there will be better schools but no doubt these are not looking for teachers.

5. stopwatch

stopwatch Lead commenter