1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in the ME

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by mpierre7, Aug 31, 2017.

1. mpierre7

mpierre7 New commenter

Hi, I am a Secondary English teacher with two young children thinking about teaching in the ME (Dubai is the top of the list but i'm open to other areas) I have had a browse on the thread and read some awful stories but equally some success stories! I was just wondering if anyone had any advice on whether to apply to a government run school or a 'private school' and if possible some guidance (privately) on any schools to stay clear of. Ideally, I would like to start August 2018; does it make a difference whether you apply through an agency or direct to the school?

I have worked out that most schools do offer a reduction or free education for your children, does anybody have any experience with this? Did your children settle in well? Was the transition, teaching and standard of living what you expected?

Also, if anyone had any insight into the expected salary (4 years teaching experience with pastoral responsibility) that would also be amazing!

I know that the ME isn't for everyone but I do really have my hear set on it, so any information or guidance would be greatly received!

2. Powergnome3

Powergnome3 New commenter

Welcome to a new, expanded, world!
    Firstly, international teaching, for the majority of teachers, is a magnificent decision... BUT there are horror stories - not every school is equal (just like in the U.K.), so the most important thing is to be confident in the schools you apply to - do as much research as possible!