1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Qatar???

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Sarah2903, Jan 12, 2011.

1. Hi,
    My partner has a job in Qatar starting in Jan and I will be joining him in July (when we are married). I am in my second year of teaching Science in the UK and I will need a job starting in August/September.
    I am looking for any advice on how to apply for jobs - what do I need to write into my letter, what to include in CV and will schools be intersted in me with only 2 years experience. Is there anyway to check the schools as I have been unsuccessful in research so far :(
    I will be visiting my partner in the febuary half term - will the schools be open to visit? Is it best to visit?
    Really I just am after any advice that can help me be successful in my application for a Science teacher position,
    Thanks for any advice in this exciting and scary time,
    Sarah

2. hi sarah,
    im currently working in a school in qatar and if your fella is getting a job here there might be scope for you with jobs in september too as we havent advertised yet!
    I would definately reccomend trying to get in at the same school just to make things easier for yourself in the long run, especially with housing etc
    PM me if you want any more info or specific school info
    QH

3. I so far have avoided applying for jobs in Qatar. I have a friend who was there and said it was, well safe and all, but quite boring. What is it like living there?

4. catnipbon

catnipbon New commenter

It's safe and very very exciting, don't avoid it

5. tyler durden

tyler durden New commenter