1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in prison

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by vectis1, Jun 12, 2019.

1. vectis1

vectis1 New commenter

Hi,

Just seen a job teaching in a prison. Always fancied it for some wired reason!

Anyone have any experience of it?

Thanks in advance,

2. BTBAM85

BTBAM85 New commenter

No, but it looks truly awful. Like working in a PRU with less job security and no school holidays. Forget it.

3. BYusuf

BYusuf Occasional commenter TES Careers peer advisor

Hi vectis1,

I have no experience of teaching in a prison yet curious enough to ask, what makes it appealing to you?

Do you have any experience of teaching students who may experience complex learning needs, mental health issues and significant learning gaps?

B

4. vectis1

vectis1 New commenter

Hi,

Thanks your your ideas.

I knew someone who taught in prison and actually enjoyed it. Behavior better than school!

I do believe in second chances I suppose. Clear link between low literacy and offenders.

I have only worked in mainstream though so probably don’t have the experience. Also probably being naive about the ‘making a difference’ thing.

Will leave it for now then!

5. BYusuf

BYusuf Occasional commenter TES Careers peer advisor

Hi again vectis1,

I am a firm believer in doing what we love or are passionate about, no matter how corny that may sound!

As naive as it may sound, making a positive difference is a great motivator.

Working in mainstream *could* help provide the right experience for this type of role so long as we have developed:
    *a varied array of behaviour management strategies