1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in New Zealand

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by MissJeanes, Apr 17, 2012.

1. I'm thinking seriously about making a move to teaching in New Zealand or Australia and am wondering if anyone with past experience can help.
    I have 3 years UK primary teaching experience and qualified in the UK with a BA in History and later a PGCE. I have read on TES that the PGCE is not recognised in the same way as a BA in education. I know that whether I decide to head to NZ or AU I need to get my qualifications approved, but at a cost of around $700 I was wondering if anyone could shed light on the status of the PGCE before i commit to the huge fee... ?

I would really apreciate any advice. Many thanks MJ

2. I'm thinking seriously about making a move to teaching in New Zealand or Australia and am wondering if anyone with past experience can help.
    I have 3 years UK primary teaching experience and qualified in the UK with a BA in History and later a PGCE. I have read on TES that the PGCE is not recognised in the same way as a BA in education. I know that whether I decide to head to NZ or AU I need to get my qualifications approved, but at a cost of around $700 I was wondering if anyone could shed light on the status of the PGCE before i commit to the huge fee... ?

I would really apreciate any advice. Many thanks MJ

3. Your qualifications are more analagous to NZ secondary quals than primary ones. I'm not sure that you'd get a primary job with those, though I couldn't say for certain.
    In general, in NZ a primary-qualified teacher can teach secondary, but a secondary-qualified teacher cannot teach primary.