1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in New York

Discussion in 'Primary' started by louisekwa, Dec 23, 2011.

1. Hello

I am currently completing my NQT year in a school in London and am interested to move to New York to teach in the near future. I have a degree in Primary Eduction (BA Hons, 4year with QTS) from a British university. However, their application process is not familiar to me! I was wondering if anyone had any experience of teaching in NY or had contacts over there so that I could investigate further. I have used the teachNY website and have made enquiries. Also, I have looked at Teach for America and Teach for All however they seem quite specific and not always open to overseas applicants. Does anyone know any more about these?

The other concern is how to go about getting a green card. Do I need one before or after applying for jobs? Has anyone done this!?

Any information or guidance would be great.

Thank you very much

Louise

2. Hello

I am currently completing my NQT year in a school in London and am interested to move to New York to teach in the near future. I have a degree in Primary Eduction (BA Hons, 4year with QTS) from a British university. However, their application process is not familiar to me! I was wondering if anyone had any experience of teaching in NY or had contacts over there so that I could investigate further. I have used the teachNY website and have made enquiries. Also, I have looked at Teach for America and Teach for All however they seem quite specific and not always open to overseas applicants. Does anyone know any more about these?