1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur) - opinions and advice please!!

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Amandaimmie, Apr 2, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm a primary teacher considering whether to apply to a couple of jobs I've seen at British/International schools in Kuala Lumpur. However, I've read some really mixed things about working there both on this forum and elsewhere.

Firstly, what sort of pay and conditions can I expect? I've read that the minimum pay for an expat is 5000R but schools pay 10000R and above (around £2000?) However, I've then read that this is very heavily taxed, and that if you holiday outside Malaysia then you get even more tax for leaving the country. Is this true?

Also, in many countries they give you a housing allowance in addition to your salary. Would this be the case in KL/other parts of Malaysia (I'm not set on KL but it seems the best in terms of travel opportunities and the sheer number of schools!)