1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Latin America

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by marcusqbennett, Oct 22, 2019.

1. marcusqbennett

marcusqbennett New commenter

Hi,

I am currently a primary school teacher entering my third year of teaching. At the moment, I am teaching at a school in London, but I plan on doing an international move for the next academic year.

I have always had my heart set on teaching in a Spanish speaking country, as I have been learning Spanish throughout the years and want to improve my fluency. At first, I considered Spain (as it is the closest) but the lower salary and reviews on here make me somewhat apprehensive. I was also considering Latin America/Caribbean, but wondered if anyone has any advice, insight or experience with this. Many of the jobs I see are in Colombia, Peru and Chile which I am not opposed to at all!
    I am currently on M4 pay scale working in outer London. What are my prospects are finding work abroad?

2. Morena123

Morena123 New commenter

The top schools in Chile employ native English speakers for Primary as they tend to be immersive-English to around Year 7 and then switch back to Spanish for High School. The pay will be better than Spain and it's a great country to live in (current issues aside) but you certainly shouldn't go there aiming to save lots.

The only school I know of that is truly English-language is Nido. Jobs there are hard to come by! The other schools are basically bilingual. Many will do the IB but this is secondary to the Chilean pre-uni tests so they don't really 'feel' like IB schools. I'm not sure on Primary curriculum, some will do PYP I'm sure.