1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Guangzhou

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by kateagos, Jan 8, 2019.

1. kateagos

kateagos New commenter

Hi,

My husband has received a job offer for a teaching post in Guangzhou. It includes medical, housing, annual flights home etc. and the salary is 29,000 (rmb) a month gross.

Is this enough for a family of 6 to live on comfortably out there? I am also a teacher, but we have young children so am planning on topping up with some English tutoring for a year or two and then I would work too.

We have to know this is viable to before accepting, uprooting 4 children is a big thing! I've read some varying things about what is a 'good' salary out there.

Thanks

2. cardelle

cardelle New commenter

Hey,

I worked at an International School in GZ two years ago and can confirm that wage is very low. Please note I was at the time in my 4th year teaching and earning 32,600CNY as a single occupant and was given a three bedroom (huge) apartment, annual flights and medical on top of a lovely bonus after two years.
    Look I saved half my wage (and could have saved a whole lot more too). But if you are moving to China, then it has to be absolutely worth it - ie top school, with excellent pay that should be expected in China.
    You also should check out ISR which is a schools review page by teachers for teachers to get a feel for your school you are considering. I'm now moving onto my fourth International post and can tell you if this is your first time, make sure it is definitely the right one. Because, if it is - you and your family will absolutely love it!

All the best and I hope this helps.

3. february31st