1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

teaching in France or Spain

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by mazman, Jul 7, 2012.

1. mazman

mazman New commenter

I've put this post up in the modern languages section as I imagine a linguist is more likely to be able to advise me! I'm a French and Spanish teacher and I'm desperate to move my family abroad for a few years and for me to teach in either France or Spain. I've been teaching in comprehensive schools for 10 years and have been very successful in the roles I have undertaken. I'm wondering where the best place to look for work would be? I had thought about teaching English in a French secondary school, for example, as I wouldn't feel confident teaching French to natives and I have taught English as a foreign language before, however, I don't want to commit 'career suicide' by being out of the English school system for too long and I've heard 'les concours' are very difficult to pass (especially for someone who's not French) I've also thought about applying to international schools, which follow the GCSE exam boards and English school curriculum, but again, would there be an abundance of native speakers who could teach their language better than me? In which case, I would have to teach English. Are there any Heads of Department or Headteachers out there who could tell me how they would view a prospective employee who had been abroad for 3 or 4 years, teaching in either of these types of institutions? I would want to return to England and my teaching career is very important to me.I look forward to hearing your responses! Many thanks.

2. mazman

mazman New commenter