1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in France, anyone Any experience?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by North-Star, May 13, 2018.

1. North-Star

North-Star New commenter

Hello,

I am seriously thinking of relocating to France, I am a maths teacher with QTS (PGCE Route), a degree in civil engineering and no problem with the French language as all my studies were in French all my life except for the PGCE.

Has anyone made the move to France? I am aware that QTS will not be enough, but will it at least give a headstart? Any details or information about any extra tests will be very helpful.

I am looking to move to the south west region of France.

2. kpjf

kpjf Occasional commenter

Well, I guess you have 2 choices

1 International school or
    2 Private school

Regardless of a PGCE, a state school job is out because you need to do the French equivalent of a PGCE. It's unfair that a French teaching license is accepted in the UK but a UK teaching license isn't accepted in France.

I wouldn't say pay is so good in a private school given that you don't need a teaching license to work there and as for international schools precisely in the south west of France, no idea how many of them there are!

North-Star likes this.
  3. kdec

kdec New commenter