1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Europe

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by chlosho1, Dec 29, 2019.

1. chlosho1

chlosho1 New commenter

Hi,

I'm a science teacher currently completing my NQT year in the UK and thinking of teaching abroad next year.

From what I understand my best bet would be finding a job in an international school. I'd be more than happy to be an EFL teacher but don't have a TEFL qualification and it seems I'd get better pay as a science teacher abroad.

I'm hoping for somewhere where I can find a bit of a better work life balance (though understand this may not be the case in an international school). But also just to have a bit of an adventure really!

So far I'm thinking Spain or Netherlands but open to other suggestions. I'm interested in hearing others experiences... please share!

2. yasf

yasf Established commenter

You'll no doubt have some comments made about Spain in a bit. Regardless, jobs overseas can be quite competitive and the more flexible you can be the better. The closer to the UK, and the sunnier the location, the more popular and the worse the pay and conditions.
    It's getting a bit late for next year - unless you get your CV and covering letter done pronto. Getting an overseas job is possible at any time of the year, but the height of the recruitment season is getting earlier and earlier these days, and tends to start around October for experienced couples that offer shortage subjects and runs up to the end of January for the rest of us mere mortals.