1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Dubai

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by mary82, Apr 23, 2018.

1. mary82

mary82 New commenter

Looking for a little advice as I don’t really know where to start...
    I want to move to Dubai to teach primary (& take my daughter who is 17) - I have 10 years experience, masters degree etc but I have no idea what the best schools to work at are? Best areas to live? Best relocation packages available?
    Here, I would visit, meet the headteacher, get a feel for a school.
    Any recommendations appreciated? :)

2. Mr_Frosty

Mr_Frosty Occasional commenter

Get a strong LinkedIn profile and add some connections out here - there are may principals/head teachers on there, many recruiters and you can make useful contacts. I'm not looking for work but have been invited for interviews based on my profile and I am way less experienced than you.

I signed up to the International Schools Review based on the advice given by people on this forum and it seems good and could make a good starting point or at least rule a few poor choice out. I think you can also find a list of all the international school in Dubai online and then look up their local inspection reports etc on the KDHA website.

As for places to live it depends on where you'll be working (and if they provide accommodation or an allowance) really as Dubai traffic is insane in my opinion. Personally I'd choose Dubai Marina, The Greens, Jumeriah Lake Towers (JLT) or Jumeriah Beach Residence (JBR) - even though I know first hand that the traffic would kill me at rush hour.

3. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter