1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Doha

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by jaspercarrot, Apr 3, 2009.

1. I'm looking to move to Doha in the summer, I'm a Secondary English Teacher in the UK.I have been to Doha before but don't really know anything about how teaching works out there, does anyone have any advice about applying for jobs, schools, salary, benefits etc.

Thanks
    Jill

2. I'm sure thehippo will give you all the information you need. In the meantime I have sent you a mail about something that might interest you.

3. Lots of new school opening which may be worth looking at but be careful with some of the older ones. There are 4 or 5 good schools in Doha. Salaries vary as does accommodation, many teachers are excellent, students are well-motivated in many shcools - not all. Resources and staff development vary widely. QF provides free courses now and again for anyone (great for those in schools which do not help at all). Do not be misled by fancy websites or what you hear at interview. Get info. from current teachers at the school you choose and scan the development plans/ improvement plans and contract with a fine-toothed comb. It can be a great place for families and singles, imho. Good luck with your decision-making.

4. tyler durden

tyler durden New commenter

Which school are you at Sippicanman?

5. the hippo

the hippo Established commenter Community helper