1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Devon

Discussion in 'Primary' started by anon3106, Feb 19, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm from the North West of England where I've lived all my life. I did my degree, PGCE and I'm currently doing my NQT year in the North West too.

I've recently been told about a teaching opportunity in Devon, which would obviously involve me and my family moving there this August if I am successful. I've heard a lot about how nice Devon is, mostly because the people I've spoke to have only ever been there on holiday, but I'm yet to hear from anybody what it is actually like to live and work there.

Does anybody know if there is much difference between Devon and the North West when it comes to living and working as a teacher?

2. clear_air

clear_air New commenter

I grew up in Devon (family still there, so regular-ish visitor) - and it's lovely. Rural living can be a pain (reason I'm not there any more), and Exeter seems to be vvvvv expensive to buy property these days. As CarrieCat says, landscape and coastline lovely - what's not to like? Expecially if you are into the outdoors.
    Why don't I live there any more? Not much work about for hubby and me combined. You never know, I might make it back one day.

3. Thanks for the replies everybody. I've been looking at house prices (Tiverton, Cullompton areas - not sure whether these are nice areas or not!) and they do seem a bit more expensive but not as much as I was expecting. Definitely like the sound of nearby coastal areas and national parks. My girlfriend is a nurse, which is adding to the decision, as she would need to look for a job in a hospital nearby too. Not asking for any advice on that one though!