1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Colombia

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Franchute, Sep 24, 2015.

1. Franchute

Franchute New commenter

Dear all,

I have read most of the threads regarding teaching in Colombia on the old forum but I still have a few questions and would be extremely grateful if anyone could come to the rescue!

First of all, I think it would help if I give you some background information on my career and why I am moving to Colombia. I am a French national in my 30's, I have done my teachers training in England (PGCE in MFL) and I have been teaching mainly Spanish for 6 years now. I have been head of department for 3 years and am now starting my 2nd year as a Literacy coordinator at a whole school level. My husband is a Colombian national and may have a job opportunity back in Colombia : we are not sure which city yet but he's from Cali so ideally we'd go there.

My questions are the following:
    * Do school generally offer "packages" for expat teachers like they do in the middle east for example? If so, what do they normally include?
    * What are the requirements to work in a private national school (or "bilingual" school)?
    * What would be the average salary I can expect to receive based on my experience?

Then I'd be extremely grateful if you could share any details of your personal experience with me (relationship with the kids, the parents, the administration). Any comments would help!

I've been travelling to Colombia for many years and find the people generally very nice and children in particular seem quite well educated and I was curious to hear if it translated in a school situation.

Many thanks in advance!

2. rachel_g41