1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Christchurch NZ Advice

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by lubat, Dec 29, 2010.

1. I am very keen to hear from anyone from the UK who has had experience of looking for jobs or teaching in Christchurch. I am a primary school teacher who has taught part time for the last 7 years. I have always taught in a smaller 150 pupil village school and am a M6 at present with sports/ICT co-ordinator role.My husband is from Christchurch and decided to go home at the beginning of Dec (homesick after 10 years). He has since got a job starting in a couple of weeks. I have a house to rent/sell and 2 children 9 and 5. I emigrated to Sydney in my 20s on my own and lived there for 8 years gaining australian citizenship. I have dual nationality and my children have british/NZ passports. I have been to Christchurch quite a few times and Auckland so I do know what its like! I have also emigrated and know the procedures etc and settling in period. Where ever you go in the world no matter how exciting and brilliant you always have to sacrifice something. I know I will have to get qualifications authorized and give up my job here which I love and a school I love ( an outstanding one!). I am quite happy here but I guess if I could get a job or could get some positive feedback on job hunting it may help me to feel better. My husband is over there now and not coming back so I am having to decide what to do. Can anyone give me any info or knows of someone who has tried? Thanks