1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Canada?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by MissELowe, May 18, 2018.

1. MissELowe

MissELowe New commenter

This maybe a hashed out topic but I'm needing some clarification!

My husband has been offered a job in Vancouver so now we're looking at the possibilities of me going with him and ultimately earning a living there too. I have a first class degree, PGCE with QTS and in the process of finishing a Masters in Education.

From reading other threads, I'm getting the opinion that this means very little for the Canadian unions and that it'd be almost impossible to teach out there.

I suppose my question is, is that the case? And if so does anyone else have any other options what I could do out there?

This job is my husband's dream and I want to go over and share it with him. Money will be tight over there so anyway I can contribute, I'm happy!

Thanks in advance and sorry with the waffle!

2. Wotton

Wotton Lead commenter

3. Helen-Back

Helen-Back Occasional commenter

Where exactly will you be living in Vancouver? It makes a difference and will influence people's answers. Is it in the Vancouver or Greater Vancouver? Could you be a bit more specific.

4. swsimp160

swsimp160 Occasional commenter