1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Bulgaria or Romania

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by kiwi_bel, Nov 6, 2019.

1. kiwi_bel

kiwi_bel New commenter

Hi, I'm new here and would love some advice. I have my heart set on teaching in Bulgaria or Romania, but I can't even get an interview at the schools I am interested in. I've been teaching for 13 years (6 internationally), and have inquiry, common core, and English National Curriculum experience. I have had many interviews and job offers in other parts of the world, but never the two countries I most want to teach in! Are the top schools highly competitive in these two countries? Does anyone have advice on what I could include on my CV or cover letter that might specifically appeal to principals in Bulgaria or Romania? Any advice gratefully received!

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

The top on in Sofia on average gets over 160 applications for each post.....yes these jobs are competitive.

3. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

I am currently teaching in Sofia, kiwi_bel, and I think that I might be able to help you. Please send me one of those TES Conversation things. You might also be interested in reading my blog bulgariawithnoodles.blogspot.com

And yes, I also taught in Bucharest for two years, so I might be able to help you with that one too.

4. Helen-Back

Helen-Back Occasional commenter

Can I send you a PM Hippo?

5. the hippo

Yes, of course you can, Helen-Back! And I promise not to try to sell you a house in Bulgaria (or mention my blog every five minutes).

6. makhnovite

makhnovite Established commenter