1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in British Forces Schools

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by longstockings, Feb 26, 2005.

1. I'm going for an interview with the MOD on Tuesday for joining the Primary Teaching Pool. Does anyone have any advise prior to interview? My parents were teachers in Germany for many years and had an amazing time but I would love to hear from anyone who has taught with SCE recently. Are there any areas that I really should avoid or think carefully about? I'm in my second year of teaching, in my early twenties and enjoy a good social life.

2. thanks for your reply, arndtheidi. Cyprus does seem very appealing - fingers crossed then. Just a bit concerned in case they offer me something in the Faulklands or some of the other more remote areas!

3. Most first appointment are sent to Germany, although people are also sent to Cyprus. You can say no to any place you are asked to go from the pool, without any problems.

Look at a map if you are asked to go any place in Germany and decided if you really want to live there. Some places are a bit remote while others are near main cities.

It is very unlikely that anyone who is new will be aksed to go to a remote location, but if you would like to, if you are accepted to the pool you should let them know. They will send you a preference form where this can be written.