1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Austrialia - Can I?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by kyrie969, Aug 16, 2011.

1. I qualified in September 2010 as a seconday science teacher. Since then I have been a supply teacher at schools in my local area. I still need to complete my NQT year but had great difficulty trying to get a job. I am looking at moving to Austrialia at some point but basically just enquiring about what experience I would need. In other words will I need to complete my NQT year in England/have a few years teaching experience first? I would be grateful with any infomation that can be provided. Thanks :)

2. I qualified in September 2010 as a seconday science teacher. Since then I have been a supply teacher at schools in my local area. I still need to complete my NQT year but had great difficulty trying to get a job. I am looking at moving to Austrialia at some point but basically just enquiring about what experience I would need. In other words will I need to complete my NQT year in England/have a few years teaching experience first? I would be grateful with any infomation that can be provided. Thanks :)

3. pomunder

pomunder New commenter

Yes, you do need experience as well as NQT status, at least for government schools. Private schools, of which there many, are not bound by the same rules, but most do anyway. You have to register separately in each state or territory.

4. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter

How much experience? I've done a year in secondary and a year in Uni. Will I struggle getting work? (NSW is where we'll be going if we decide to go for it) x

5. Syria1

Syria1 New commenter