1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Australia- the first steps

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by dasker, Sep 21, 2018.

1. dasker

dasker New commenter

Good Morning
    Finally after a few years and many a conversation with the wife, i think i have realised it is time to investigate with teaching in Australia

I was hoping to get an 'idiots guide' to the initial steps/forms that need completing.

I hold a PGCE certificate in Physical Education alongside my Sports Science Degree, I have 11 years experience in PE alongside 4 years of pastoral care experience

Many Thanks for the help in advance

David A

2. shadowkitten

shadowkitten New commenter

Hello, I'm Australian so I may be able to help!

Each state and territory in Australia (Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia, Northern Territory, Tasmania & ACT) has their own Teacher Registration Board so the first step is deciding which state you want to live in. Each registration board has different requirements so first steps are deciding which state and then looking on their website to find the relevant forms & information.

I'm South Australian, here is the link to the South Australian teacher registration board: https://www.trb.sa.edu.au/

3. Hi David,

First step is to get a visa assessment. Schools will not provide a visa so the visa is essential.

You should look at 189 skilled migrant visas- you may be eligible. It's got a 12 month waiting period though! Long process but worth it.

3 months before you depart you need to obtain registration to teach as per the comment above.