1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in Asian countries

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by JL_123test, Dec 20, 2018.

1. JL_123test

JL_123test New commenter

Hello all. I'm an experienced business subjects teacher and my partner can teach English. We are considering moving to one Asian country and stay there for a while. We are thinking of China, Korea, or Thailand. Do you have any suggestion? Pros and cons? Should I apply for the openings directly on schools' websites or through an agency? Many thanks.

2. hs9981

hs9981 Established commenter

When you say 'partner' you mean wife/gf, if you're male and husband/bf if you're female, right?

If not, you should think very carefully about what (if any) Asian country you apply to teach in. If you are not married, that can also affect the application procedure in some countries.

JL_123test likes this.
  3. JL_123test

JL_123test New commenter

Thank you hs9981. We are not married but it shouldn't be a concern for us. We'd like to stay in one city and working for different employers is acceptable.

4. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

The amount of countries where you "have" to be married is small. Its not a big deal if you arent.

I suggest you go onto the teaching overseas forum on TES for further help

5. hs9981

hs9981 Established commenter

If you apply as 'Adam and Steve' it is.

6. JL_123test

JL_123test New commenter

Thanks a lot dumbbells66. I will go to the teaching overseas forum for help.

7. WTDT

WTDT New commenter