1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching in America. VIF?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Laurenj211, Oct 11, 2016.

1. Laurenj211

Laurenj211 New commenter

Hello,
    I am trying to move to America for the next school year. My boyfriend is a resident in Washington state and I'm a primary teacher in England and have held the position for 2 years. I've started to look at visas and lots of blogs about how people make the move there. I've looked at VIF also. Just wondering if anyone has used it or can give me any advice at all about the best way to get things started.
    There just seems to be so many requirements and different laws. I'm struggling.
    Thanks in advance

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

How about getting married? Mrs. Hippo found it a lot easier to get a UK passport once she had a UK husband.

Helen-Back likes this.
  3. mikemcdonald25

mikemcdonald25 Occasional commenter

Good advice from the aged pachyderm! Thanks to G. W. Bush It would avoid all the problems with working in the US that have been quoted on here ad nauseum by so many posters

4. Hi Lauren,

Did you have any luck with this? I'm in a similar position, my boyfriend is now living in the US with a two-year visa, and I am hoping to join him this summer and somehow get a J1 teaching visa. Have you had any luck or found out any more?

Any help appreciated!

5. the hippo