1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching GCSE English Literature Generically

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by mfinease, May 1, 2020.

1. Hi all, I hope everyone reading is staying safe.

I am a Computer Science teacher by training, however, due to staff turn at a previous school I taught GCSE English language and frankly enjoyed it. I started to teach literature which I enjoyed even more. Before the lock down I was a cover supervisor for a few schools and would only be called for English lessons through my arrangement with the cover agency. My predicament is that different schools teach different texts - even different exam boards! Even though I've taught so much English I still feel I don't have a grasp on the most effective way to teach the core principles. That might sounds a little abstract so here's what i mean.

This is in the context of teaching Shakespeare, 19th-century and Modern texts

Teaching a particular text is straight forward- we go through the plot and characters whilst forming analyses on themes context, structure and language, however, teaching two texts or three text at a time is near impossible. Now, I'm not intending to develop a scheme of work that teaches multiple texts for 2 years. My aim is to develop a short scheme of work that prepares students for exams but can be taught to students with little or no knowledge of a text. And as a by product this would also be useful for those students who come Spring term 1 have no idea who Benvolio is never mind how he is good intentioned!