1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching expanding brackets and factorising - how to make it fun?

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by westcountrygirl, Mar 4, 2009.

1. Does anyone know of any interesting or fun methods of teaching how to expand double brackets and how to factorise?
    I have been using worksheets and textbooks which just list hundreds of questions and both myself and the children are feeling very bored!

2. ian60

ian60 New commenter

Grumpy head on.

Why does it have to be fun? I do not believe we are paid to be entertainers.

Grumpy head off.

3. Because I'm a PGCE student and I get marked down on my lesson observations if my lessons are not fun and engaging for every student in the classroom.

Thanks for everyone's ideas, I used some of them in my last lesson and it went down very well.

4. In a sense I agree with you but I think that this is a huge over simplification of the issue (my statements are equally a simplication but slightly less 'overly' so I think).
    In a utopian world all people would do activities that are of long term personal benefit irrespective of the enjoyment that the activity brings in it's own right.
    For example I know that going running every day would make me fitter yet I do not do so. Why? Because I do not enjoy running. I do go running a couple of times a week though. Now if running, in it's own right, was enjoyable I would certainly go more often. I find watching a good film on the television to be enjoyable but this does not serve the purpose of getting me fit so it is not an acceptable substitute for physical activity such as running.
    The same ideas can be applied to students learning.