1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching ESOL to complete beginners

Discussion in 'English' started by AndreaMacD, Nov 16, 2009.

1. I am currently teaching ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) at Early Entry 1 Level ( complete beginners). Few of my students are illiterate in Roman alphabet. What is the most effective way of teaching them read and write? Any tips?

2. I am currently teaching ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) at Early Entry 1 Level ( complete beginners). Few of my students are illiterate in Roman alphabet. What is the most effective way of teaching them read and write? Any tips?

3. Hi Andrea, there is an excellent publication "Teaching basic literacy to ESOL learners"by Spiegel and Sunderland 2006. Where to start?! Another useful resource I found for teaching for forming lower and upper case is Fast track to Writing by Jayne Garner and Joy Collins which has photocopiable templates. This may help with your students who do not have the Roman script in their 1st language. It is not specifically for ESOL learners so some of the words used will be rather inaccessible to your learners!
    Otherwise I have found that there is little practical help out there for teaching complete ESOL beginners, particularly materials that cater for adults.
    Does anyone know of any useful websites in this field from the overwhelming number out there?
    Good luck Andrea

4. roamingteacher

roamingteacher Occasional commenter Forum guide

http://www.senteacher.org/index.php (grrreat)
    http://www.btinternet.com/~ted.power/lit00.html (for adults)
    http://www.instructorweb.com/resources/alphabet.asp