1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching D&T in Dubai

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Emma020984, May 2, 2012.

1. Hi, I'm wondering if anyone can help me/give advice/reasure me.

My boyfriend has to move to Dubai in November for 2 years as part of his job. If we want to stay together I really need to go with him. As I know it would break my heart not to be with him for 2 years I have decided I want to go to Dubai too. I love my teaching job where I am at the moment, but I know I really want to be with him. I've been looking for the past 3 weeks for a suitable job, and I'm getting really worried as nothing has come up. The problem I'm having is that I'm a Design and Technology teacher and there doesn't seem to be much call for D&T teachers in Dubai, or in the UAE as a whole. Can any one help to calm my nerves, and tell me that there are such positions about, and that time isn't running out for a September 2012 start. Also, how long does it take to sort a work visa out? Any words of comfort would be much appreciated!

Help, help, help!

Emma

2. Hi, I'm wondering if anyone can help me/give advice/reasure me.