1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching basics in application

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by tjrr, Mar 7, 2020.

1. tjrr

tjrr New commenter

Having gained QTS in the UK 8 years ago we decided to move to the continent where I have had a good career in the teaching profession (not in an international school). However, due to family reasons we are keen to move back home. All my applications have been rejected because I have no recent experience of teaching GCSEs or A-level qualifications. This is true of course but teaching languages is not rocket science and follows clear language acquisition „laws“. I know and understand the National Curriculum but wonder how I can convince the shortlisting panel that even though I have not taught in the UK recently I am more than capable of following the curriculum and SOW and of helping students to excel?
    I would be really grateful for your views and advice on this!

2. agathamorse

agathamorse Senior commenter

Read the exam specifications as the content and way of examining has changed a lot. New content at both GCSE and A level. Less transactional language for a start. No coursework and new speaking exams. All exam instructions in target language.

Read the specifications and take a look at text books so you can say you're up to date with the new exam requirements.

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Yes, good advice there from @agathamorse .

Didn't you teach these as part of your training placements? So get up to date fast.

And perhaps see if you can apply to be an examiner?

I have a vague feeling that they are so desperate for examiners they don't always require you to actually teach the subject.

Daft, isn't it?