1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching at an independent school without a PGCE?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by freddyj66, Jun 14, 2013.

1. Hi,

I am a graduate student, coming to the end of my PhD, and I am considering a career as a Maths teacher at an independent secondary school. I was wondering if anyone could offer any advice, particularly about the following things:

1. I do not have a PGCE, and don't particularly wish to do one (I feel that I've been a student for too long now!). To what extent will this count against me when I apply for jobs? I do have extensive teaching experience at university level, as well as a first class degree, and I will soon have a PhD too (both from Oxford University). Given this, do I have a reasonable chance of securing a job at an independent secondary school?

2. My bachelor and masters degrees are in Chemistry, and my PhD, whilst carried out in the Chemistry dept, has been in Theoretical Physics. Pretty much all of the teaching I've done at university has been in Maths. I was wondering if the fact that I don't have a degree in Maths (even though I've spent a lot of time studying/teaching it) would count against me when applying for Maths teaching jobs?

2. I have heard that the first year of teaching is hard work, and I imagine for me this would be particular true, given that I have no experience of school teaching. I am not averse to this, but could anyone give me an idea of what is involved in the first year/term? Particular I am interested in how many lessons a new teacher typically gives a week, how many hours of lesson planning are required etc.