1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

teaching assitant tea break

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by moggy29, Aug 1, 2012.

1. I have been working in schools since I was 19 years old, I am now 50 years old. I have always been paid my tea breaks, now our head has decided to not pay us anymore I know the budgets are tight, and you should work a number of hours before you are entitled to a break. We all feel upset about this as we all usually work during are breaks anyway. What do we do now if we are needed for first aid during breaks? and what if we are on school trips, we will be with the children, but not get paid for 20 minutes. The head was very dismissive about cutting them with no concern at all for us. Has this been happening in other school recently would be interested to know please from anyone.

2. Hi,
    Many of our LSAs are not paid for their breaktimes or lunchtimes. The few that are undertake break duties outside. In terms of trips, our LSAs work the full day so technically work unpaid for 1 hour 20 minutes each day. It can be negotiated with teachers to take this time back at a convenient point but the goodwill of most of them mean they don't...but they are entitled to.
    Not sure if it is an increasingly common thing...would be interested to hear from others.

3. tamtams

tamtams New commenter

Hi
    We are paid for our tea breaks and we all do a rota one day make tea other playground duty then first-aid then corridor leaving one break free well not really as there is always something to be done, we don't get paid for our dinner break.

4. tamtams

tamtams New commenter

Hi