1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Assistants in the Maths Classroom

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by lynseyfox, Dec 7, 2011.

1. Hi there,
    Does anybody have any best practice they would like to share with me for best use of a TA in my classroom.

I'm currently doing my Masters in Education and I've decided to focus on improving the relationship between teachers and TA's in my lessons. Any advice would be great!

Thank you!

2. Hi there,
    Does anybody have any best practice they would like to share with me for best use of a TA in my classroom.

I'm currently doing my Masters in Education and I've decided to focus on improving the relationship between teachers and TA's in my lessons. Any advice would be great!

Thank you!

3. Involve them in some of the planning and delivery. You could for instance get them to lead a plenary.

4. Not all would necessarily be happy with leading a class, though yes, it can work. I've had experience of working with TAs doing the job as a prelude to PGCE and they jumped at the chance to actually do a little bit of teaching. I'd agree with involving people in a little bit of the planning, that can certainly be very helpful, especially if you get someone who is good with differentiation and they go away and sort resources for a particular group of pupils (though naturally, the teacher should still have oversight of this).

5. "Involve them in some of the planning" when? Many of our TAs are not comfortable themselves with the mathematical content and would be unable to lead some teaching.