1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Assistant Issues

Discussion in 'Primary' started by benwhite106, May 4, 2011.

1. I am currently a year 6 teacher, within my class I have two stantmented teachers with two very low ability children - (just off of P scales). They both have Teaching assistants (TA). One TA is very good, working with her child and supporting across the curriculum.
    The other is a very negative person who appears not to enjoy working with her child at all. Her body language is always negative, she offers no engouragement or support to the child, except when they do something wrong where the TA is very quick to correct her in a very negative way.
    Issues have a risen recently with planning - I am able to plan relevant KS1 work to inculde the statemented children within lessons, however when it comes to the collection of resources, creation for activities for the SEN children I do not recieve the support required from the TA. Often the TA will come in after her lunch break unprepared for the follwing lesson. I provide appropriate planning weeks in advanced, and regularly discuss the topics we are teaching (mainly for foundtaion subjects) on regular occasions. I don't feel I can do much more other than actually teach the children on a individual basis myself.
    I did try speaking to the TA in question, explaining how i feel about her role and my expectations, this led to her being fairly aggressive and explaining that it was not in her job and everything for ther statemented child should be provided by the teacher.