1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching assistant - help or hinder your chance of getting on PGCE course?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Georgia99, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Georgia99

Georgia99 New commenter

I am not a ITT provider so only speak anecdotally but when I studied for my PGCE last year, I would say that about 1/3 of students on the course has been working as either Teaching Assistants or Cover Supervisors.
    In my opinion it shows that you have experience in the school environment and have a better idea of what you are getting yourself in to!

2. Hey,
    I think being a TA is a really good idea.
    I have been to two interviews now (awaiting on the outcome from my second now!) and most of the people interviewing with me had been TA's or had done some job in a school!
    If I don't get in this year I'll def be doing the same as you!

3. I am a PGCE course leader and admissions tutor, and I can tell you that it's real advantage to have experience in a TA role when applying. It means you've got experience of the classroom, and by definition experience of working with children who find learning difficult. I favour applicants with this kind of experience, and they tend to do very well on the course, and are usually the first to find teaching jobs. Indeed, I've sometimes interviewed promising looking applicants for the course, rejected them because I felt they were not quite ready for PGCE, but told them in feedback that if they got a years TA experience under their belt and reapplied next year I would reconsider them. Those that have taken that advice have invariably been offered a place next time around.