1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching abroad with a PhD but no PGCE

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Thyraeus, Jan 9, 2019.

1. Thyraeus

Thyraeus New commenter

I'm new to this community. I'm wondering how easy it is to find a job abroad teaching history and humanities. I have a Cambridge degree, an MA and a PhD in History which I will officially have in February. However, I don't have a PGCE or QTS. I worked for 15 years abroad mainly teaching English with a TESOL but I also taught history and literature in Kuwait for a while. I then went back to academia for a few years. I'm in my mid 40's and it will take me 2 years to get on a PGCE course where I currently am ( in Northern Ireland) and graduate from that. I'm just here to ask your advice. Thanks for any responses.

2. teachtronic

teachtronic New commenter

in my opinion you are more than qualified, in fact more than most teachers. In saying that, i'm not sure if not having a PGCE could be detrimental to your application as it is a well recognised teaching qualification.

Thyraeus likes this.
  3. clovispoint

clovispoint Occasional commenter

No one will question your subject knowledge. However, employment visas for schools may rely on having a teaching qualification. It will vary by country. Tertiary education will likely be more accommodating.

Thyraeus and teachtronic like this.
  4. miketribe

miketribe Established commenter