1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching abroad VS teaching in Britain?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by WTDT, Feb 5, 2019.

1. WTDT

WTDT New commenter

Hello! I was hoping to find out more about what it is like teaching abroad. I am a teacher in the UK with one foot in and one foot out of the classroom. I left full time employment last April and have been doing some part time work since then. I have been exploring different options and wanted to know more about teaching abroad (Europe, Middle East etc etc) - It would be great to hear how workload, pay, hours, behaviour compare to the UK? Many thanks! M

2. 576

576 Established commenter

In my experience every school is different .

3. drvs

drvs Star commenter

As is every teacher's perspective.

bec_payne and 576 like this.
  4. WTDT

WTDT New commenter

I agree with both comments. There are trends over time and it clear that the current trend is that education in the UK is in crisis because of teacher retention. It can't be argued that teacher workload is directly related to it. Articles like this one from the Guardian:

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2018/oct/02/never-return-teach-england-refuge-abroad

...paint a rosy picture of schools abroad - but as you say, every school and teacher is different.

So it would be great to get a range of personal experiences.

5. Helen-Back

Helen-Back Occasional commenter