1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Abroad (NZ/AUS/CAN/USA) - All doors shut, and bolted?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by mrprimarymusic, Aug 18, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm a new primary teacher, with a PGCE and working towards a part time MA in Education. I've been doing a little bit of research regarding teaching anywhere else other than England and it appears to me that, specifically, NZ/AUS/CAN and USA are all shutting their doors on international primary teachers.

When I say this, I mean, removing them from the shortages lists, not recognising our degrees, qualifications and post grads.

Am I right, or am I just reading a lot of negativity? I knew it would be HARD, but I didn't think it would be impossible.

I was tempted to go to one of these expos (NZ Live) but I think it's quite pointless if they're not even letting teachers through the border currently.

Any advice?

Cheers,
    John

2. I think you could be right and that this has been happening in the UK as well for teachers coming from those countries here. That being said, the requirements to teach in Canada vary from province to province, so it's worth checking more than one.
    As for NZ Live, contact them and ask.

3. Thank you!

It certainly seems that countries are starting to look inward more now - which I suppose is good and bad!

4. IAMBOG

IAMBOG New commenter