1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

teachers views on CfE

Discussion in 'Scotland - curriculum' started by wwwwwwwww, Sep 22, 2008.

1. Hi there im a new teacher and was just wondering what everyone thought of cfe. What are the main problems you have come across? all the reports and things i find only state the benefits i dont believe its all plain sailing?

Many thanks

W

2. jonowen

jonowen Occasional commenter

Hi W, I am an "old" teacher (young at heart tho' and always willing to try something new!!) and thought CFE would be a breath of fresh air; however there is so much paperwork, ideas, new initiatives......etc that I am more confused than enthused. I teach primary and secondary and nobody seems to be able to tell me when 5-14 is being ditched completely or a small bit or not at all??

I'm not "set in my ways" and am always open to change for the better, but I'm not convinced about CFE - anyone else like to comment?

Jo [​IMG]

3. How does the Scottish Executive / Government and HMIe respond to staff and parental concerns about an overloaded curriculum, constantly changing initiatives and massively increased beaucracy?

1. Hold a consultation exercise.

2. Pay lip-service to concerns raised.

3. Come up with a new, snappy title such as 'Curriculum for Excellence'.

This ensures that the curriculum will be excellent and will achieve excellent results.

4. Make lots of aspirational statements.

5. Talk enthusiastically about 'outputs' whilst remaining vague about the 'inputs'.

6. Pretend that teachers are going to have more control over what is taught.

7. Start planning for 'Curriculum for Even Greater Excellence'.