1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teacher's strike/ Unison members

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by milliebear, Jun 16, 2011.

1. I have a question regarding support staff (I am a teacher).
    If a school closes because of large numbers of teaching staff on strike, do support staff get paid for that day when school is closed?
    There is a feeling at my school that management may use this as a way to strong-arm teachers not to strike...

2. rosyjan

rosyjan New commenter

Last time yes I did get paid when teachers were on strike and HT closed school. New HT some teachers say they will strike, HT says TAs must come to work even if school is closed or they won't be paid. Is this crossing a picket line?

3. Ophelia 9

Ophelia 9 New commenter

Yes support staff who are available to work are entitled to be paid if the head closes the school - just as teachers are paid if support staff action closes the school. Some heads who are not themselves in one if the striking unions may choose to keep school open for staff if there is appropriate work for them to do in the absence of the children - 'appropriate' work does not include cleaning equipment or moving furniture, as some heads seem to belive!
    Incidentally, support staff lose 1/260th of a year's pay for striking whereas teachers only lose 1/365th - presumably they are paid for seven days a week and support staff for only 5 - at least this is what happened in our authority a couple of years ago when there was a strike day which involved both support staff and NUT members.
    Do not let management tell you that support staff will lose pay if you strike!

4. Ophelia 9

Ophelia 9 New commenter