1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teachers' spelling

Discussion in 'English' started by andybeale, Oct 25, 2010.

1. andybeale

andybeale New commenter

I'm new to to this site and forum and have been a little shocked by teachers using "there" instead of "their", "your" instead of "you're", putting apostrophes all over the place etc. To me, this demonstrates a poor grasp of the basics. I'm not trying to start an argument but I would be interested to know other teachers' views on this and the examples we set to our pupils. If we can't get it right, how can we expect them to?

2. andybeale

andybeale New commenter

Should have been "set an example for" !

3. I sometimes use the wrong 'there/their' when I type, even though I have no problem with it when I write. Add to that dodgy typing and there are often mistakes. In class, I'm very careful and my spelling is fine when I'm writing. When I see that someone here cannot spell or punctuate, my heart sinks but I'm used to it. In school, it does my head in when a TA encourages a child to use commas incorrectly or writes 'practice' when they mean 'practise' but what can you do? You can only deal with what you see. On here, we're more tolerant because we recognise that people are tired! Also, you can't preview and check your posts, or edit them afterwards.

4. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter