1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teachers currently in South East Asia

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by GoldenBuddha, Aug 20, 2011.

1. Hi there everyone,
    This is my first post but I must admit to having lurked on this forum for a good while now.
    Anyway....
    I am an NQT this year but taught on supply in one school continuously last year for a month shy of a full year. This school have now offered my a full time post. I am qualified as a secondary RE teacher however have been given a job in the prep school and so will complete my NQT year there. Prior to commencing my PGCE I was a non teaching Pastoral Manager for a year and am currently undertaking a Masters in Education.I am also an assessor for the Duke of Edinburgh's Award.
    I plan to leave for South East Asia at the end of the academic year. I was wondering whether anyone could give an informed opinion of whether my experience would be sufficient to enable me to be considered by the better international schools on the circuit. Also if anyone has any ideas as to what I can do to enhance my employability, extra curricular profile,courses, specific routes for the MA etc. please can you let me know by posting on here or PM'ing me.
    I would also like to hear from people who already work in S.E.A to gain their insight into the schools and any guidance they can provide on attaining a position/making myself as attractive as possible to International Schools. Or indeed if I do end up with more than one job offer on the table, someone to run the options by...(is this an exceptionally naive outlook?!?)