1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teacher writing a Maths Website and App - Need feedback!

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by SparkMaths, Jun 23, 2019.

1. SparkMaths

SparkMaths Occasional commenter

Hi, I'm a Secondary Maths Teacher but my undergraduate degree was in Computer Programming. I've been taking a break from the classroom this year to write some resources using my programming skills to try and make some solutions to problems that wasted a lot of my time in the classroom.

If you've used things like MyMaths, Maths Bot or MrCarter Maths you'll be familiar with the concept I'm going for but I wanted to make something with more types of activities. I posted a similar thread last year and got some great feedback so I'm hoping to get some input again!

I've made a website with activites to show on your interactive whiteboard, there's randomly generated questions, starter tasks on prerequisite skills, multiple choice questions, matching questions/answers and a self marking worksheet:
    http://sparkmaths.com/index.html
    My aim is that this would make a complete basic lesson on each topic, saving planning time for everyone to produce the more interesting parts of the lesson such as problem solving. Because the questions are randomly generated, each activity is reusable if a class needs more time on something.

I've also made an app for smartphones with the randomly generated questions for students to use and an area for them to write their working on, here is a test version that runs in a web browser but I'm planning to put it on googleplay:
    http://sparkmaths.com/appindex.html